My understanding of the processes of emic compared to etic coding has increased through group and course collaborative efforts. The first group attempt at CMDA coding utilized emic coding. It was my assumption that we were undertaking etic coding this first round, and even though I was able to define each type of coding, my application of each type of coding was not accurate. Through practice, group work, reflection, bringing personal understanding to the group and breaking down the steps of emic and etic coding, our course developed intersubjective agreement. The application of each type of coding was also clarified for me. Through this social constructivist approach, knowledge about each type of coding was constructed.

While the technique or process of my emic and etic coding were similar to those of my peers, I was not accurately labeling each type of coding when discussing with peers. My references to each type of coding were not consistent. This became clear during the process of comparing codes with my small group. My recent struggle is grasping the depth of questions that should be developed during coding. My original questions seem too surface when comparing questions with the large group. This challenge is strictly about the method and lack of practice. My desire to understand the steps, process, or organizational flow of this type of coding is still strong, but the complexity has become evident. At this point in my coding learning, I am trying to focus on the practice, the “building” and the process of immediate coding.

I am not struggling with the larger perspective of qualitative research. This type of research is a necessary ingredient in my method of inquiry. I wish to explore and research new technologies and the stories or voices of the participants through interviews are key components. Answering the questions of “why” and “how” provide a bigger picture to the study. The use of observations, interviews, and analyzing computer mediated discourse allow the researcher to seek answers to research questions, gain an deeper understanding, and for themes to emerge. As themes emerge the researcher may discover additional areas to research further.

