My first experience with “true” instructional design was last summer in the introduction to instructional design course.  I have trained users of computer software for the majority of my career in technology.  I did not have formal training in true instructional design, but in system analysis and design.  I was an effective trainer and received positive feedback, additional work, and referrals.  I was told that I could explain difficult computer terminology and topics in a way that anyone could comprehend.  But, last summer I discovered that I was missing steps in my development of presentations and there are many things I could have done better.  I became a college instructor four years ago and I was given materials and courses to develop, with no instruction.  I can’t pinpoint what skills I posses that helped me in these situations, but I know that I did the best I could have, with limited instructional design knowledge.  I am organized, I like problem solving, I can communicate effectively with students, and I am willing to revamp those things that did not work in my course development.  I like the process, trial and error, and the challenge of ever-shifting technology.

Basic instructional design is simply designing instruction.  Creating training, developing course materials, procedures, and goals are also instructional design.  I don’t know the specific differences between advanced and basic instructional design. I will by the end of this course, but for now some thoughts on advanced instructional design include: reading and gathering information/knowledge on the theories and pedagogy of many models.  Creating additional layers to the design project, a bigger project, or a more advanced topic could each be a part of advanced instructional design.  With the change in providing education and sharing information comes a shift in the way it is presented.  Online, hybrid, and distance learning requires advanced instructional design.  Various forms of communication within these environments also require advanced work and knowledge.  Is it possible to present the information in a way that all students understand? This is the goal.  Reaching that goal requires an understanding or advanced knowledge of the theory behind the models of instructional design.

