I often come up with ideas and motivation from daydreaming or letting my mind wonder.  This activity was a focused version of daydreaming.  Placing yourself in a room that is familiar, but not looking at this room, or looking at this room in a different way.  It was hard for me to do this.  I wanted to open my eyes and check to see if I was correct in what I was visioning.  Visualization works for many people and I think this is something we don’t do enough.  Our world has become so visual, our work, our extracurricular activities. This activity would be helpful for my design to help with the navigation structure of the Moodle classroom.  Once I create this space, keeping my activities in mind, what would it look like to someone who is not familiar with the classroom?  How could I improve this by visualizing where links should be placed and the order?

The NPR story was great.  I like David Sedaris and have read several of his books.  Listening to a story from a good storyteller is relaxing.  Books on tape, baseball games, these are a few of the things I enjoy listening to.

I went to Wikipedia (just as a starting point) to look for more information on the Method of Loci. 

Back in 1956, one psychology lecturer said of the one-trial learning method: “This is based on visual images”, Sadler replied: “It is not based on visual images. To prove it, I will teach the method to a person blind from birth!” This, with the cooperation of the local Institute for the Blind, he succeeded in doing.

This experiment seems to indicate that the learning method is based on the mind’s ability to remember spatial journeys and learned shapes of objects rather than on visual images.

The method should be attempted with the aid of learning cards – one noun to a card – until the ability to rapidly achieve 100% recall after going through the pack of cards once has been mastered. (Although one goes through the cards just once, each connection requires the learner to do two things. Doing this consistently requires sustained attention and concentration. The need for the “two things” explains why, as Sadler says in the Introduction to his book, “The secret of convenient and efficient learning is hidden within the Ancient Greek ‘method of loci’, rather than revealed by it”.)

This activity made perfect sense after reading this…sustained attention and concentration are required to learn and succeed in this environment.

