When registering for this semester, I knew that instructional design was an area where I had little to no experience.  Thankfully, the first chapter of our textbook was a great starting point of defining instructional design.  Piskurich (2006) explains that this set of systems simply helps you create a useful end product.  I have been using my own system for training computer users on various medical and legal software systems for years, but never labeled it or had the appropriate training.  I know my target audience, one instructional design principle, but the discussions in our text on the advantages of using instructional design made me realize how advantageous this course is going to be.  My future work goals include teaching and developing courses in the computer/computer software field.  This course is foundation for my work.  Gaining the knowledge of the process of instructional design and applying that to real world projects is key.   (I also have so many new acronyms to learn!)

Learning is personal, portable, and unpredictable (Warren, Lee, & Najmi, 2012).   Whether in the role of a student or a teacher, learning is a lifetime process.   Many of the ideas and thoughts in our readings this week were familiar from undergraduate studies of systems analysis and design, but as time goes on new research is discovered and new concepts for design are developed.  In any profession, learning or continuing education is necessary to maintain a competitive edge.  As I continue in this course, I will keep in mind that just as the tools and design changes are important to learn, so too is understanding the history and development of instructional design.  I have a lot to learn, but am certain that instructional design is the foundational coursework that will serve me in fulfilling my teaching goals.

Piskurich, G.M. (2006).  Rapid Instructional Design.  San Francisco, CA: Pfeiffer.

Warren, S. J., Lee, J. L., Najmi, A.  (2012).  The impact of technology and theory on instructional design since 2000.  In Handbook of Research for Educational Communications and Technology.

